GUIDE PRE-TRAINING: LEADERSHIP


FACTS

Stacks Image 448

LEVEL: RED
What is my level?

++ Would you like to take on more responsibility on the water or lead other people? Leadership skills are the most important thing ++
++ Three intensive days of training on the Costa Brava, based in Roses ++
++ Learn to lead people at sea, safely organise and guide rock hopping sessions and stay on top of things in challenging situations ++
++ Working with CLAP and SAFER: essential skills for all (prospective) sea kayak guides! ++

COST: CHF 700
Excl. boat rental*, travel to and from the destination, accommodation and food.

*You can rent a kayak from us for CHF 100 (3 days).

Surcharge if fewer than 3 people attend: CHF 200


OUR SERVICES:

Three paddle-days

08.–10.10.2022
Start & end: Roses, ES

++ BOOK NOW ++

DETAILS

    • Intro
      This three-day intensive course is open to all intermediate or advanced level paddlers, but is particularly strongly recommended for anyone planning to do the Sea Kayak Leader or any other guide license in the near future. A lack of leadership skills, e.g. resulting in poor positioning, poor group organisation or wrong decisions in more demanding situations, are almost always the factor that causes people to fail the exam. And almost always the reason for this is a lack of experience in dealing with groups in the position of the leader. That is why we practice this intensively in these three days.

      CLAP and SAFER
      A central role in our training will be the principles of CLAP and SAFER and the use of different leadership styles that are more or less appropriate in different situations. Where do you position yourself and how do you communicate with your group? How do you organize the overview when rock hopping between the rocks? How many paddlers do you allow into a feature at the same time? When is it appropriate to switch to a "laissez-faire" style so that your group can have maximum fun and when are top-down decisions required? The more opportunity you have to practice all of this, the more confident you will be both in your exam and later in leading groups - whether this will be professionally or privately, with friends.

      Leadership Course vs. Incident Management
      This course is (primarily) about leadership in situations where things are going well. In other words, it's about managing a very dynamic process on the water to make sure they do run well. Rescues after capsizing etc. will certainly occur, but are not the priority.

      Incident management, on the other hand, is leadership under pressure. That means: During our Incident Management Week, the focus is (primarily) on situations that have already gone wrong. This is about organising yourself and your group in a tricky situation so that it doesn't get even more out of control and making sure rescues are carried out in a swift, efficient and, above all, safe manner.

      The final stage on this problem escalation scale is an accident involving injury or a medical emergency. In our opinion, a normal first aid course is not even remotely sufficient for situations at sea or on a remote coast. That's why we also offer you the Marine Wilderness First Responder course in Sardinia.

      All three courses go hand in hand and form – in addition to a good paddling foundation – a solid basis for the guide exam or for guiding friends on the sea. It doesn't matter if you do them all this year or slowly build up step by step. Contact us if you have any questions or are unsure whether this intensive course is right for you!
    • Day 1
      Saturday, 08.10. – course start
      Attention: In this three-day course camp, Saturday is already the first day of the course. You can easily reach Roses by bus from Barcelona Airport. For the last two kilometers from the bus station in the center to our campsite, it is best to take a taxi.

      Please note that you have to reserve your spot at the campsite yourself.

      We start the course at 12:00 a.m. on land – with a round of introductions, the distribution of the necessary gear and above all an important theoretical introduction to the topic of leadership, including hopefully lively discussion. Topics: CLAP, SAFER and leadership styles, communication and briefings, the theoretical basis for our entire course! At around 1:00 p.m. we take a short lunch break.

      We will go on the water from around 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the latest. Since we will be finished late today, we'll have dinner in the restaurant located just across the road from our campsite.
    • Day 2
      Sunday
      Today we are on the water all day. The rocky coast, which starts just to the left of our campsite, is the ideal place to practice leadership. The guide role will be changed at regular intervals, so that everyone will have enough opportunity to lead as well as to paddle as a group member. The focus will be (depending on the prevailing conditions) rock hopping and/or paddling with a group in wind and waves.

      In the evening we discuss the many situations that have arisen during the day. Then we cook something nice together.
    • Day 3
      Monday
      Another day on the water, another opportunity to practice.

      Today we start early, because today we will be off the water by 3:00 p.m. at the latest, so that you can still go home after the course, if you wish. We definitely have to schedule an hour for our feedback round.
    • More info
      More info
      Group size: Min. two participants, max. eight.

      If required, we will be happy to provide you with the necessary paddle and safety material, consisting of a paddle, buoyancy aid and spray deck as well as a neoprene long john, shoes, paddle jacket and a helmet. Please bring your own functional underwear (wool or tight-fitting fleece, NO cotton!) And swimwear with you.

      Boat rental: If you arrive without your own boat, you can rent one of our kayaks for 100 CHF for the duration of the course.

      If you like, you can also rent a drysuit from us. Cost: CHF 120

      The kitty:
      As always, on these training days we will also set up a kitty for meals. In fact, there will actually be two: one for food (€40 contribution per person) and one for alcohol (depending on how much you consume, or your best guess at it). Nobody is obliged to pay into the kitty, nor to eat together with us. But cooking and eating together after a strenuous day's paddling is just good fun, and not only does it help to strengthen our tired muscles; it also helps us to create a sense of community. Find more on this topic here.

      Weather:
      As you might expect, we can't make any guarantees in terms of weather or sea state. In order to ensure everyone's safety, our guide will decide how to carry out the planned programme locally on a daily basis, and whether to do so. As experienced sea kayakers, we know that Neptune always has the last word.

      Accident insurance is the responsibility of the participants.
      We also strongly recommend that you obtain travel cancellation insurance. Please read our GTC on the topic of cancellation fees, cancellation deadlines etc.
    Stacks Image 723
    Stacks Image 725
    Stacks Image 727
    Stacks Image 729
    Stacks Image 731
    Stacks Image 733

    PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS:

    ++ Must be able to swim ++
    ++ At least 10 days of sea kayaking experience on the sea ++
    ++ You are confident in a kayak at Beaufort force 3 and in waves of about 2 ft ++
    ++ You want to learn and you are prepared to spend three days working intensively and redefining your comfort zone ++

    Stacks Image 3

    CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SPOT


    How to get to Roses, Camping Ampurdanes:

    • Rail

      ++ Take the train from Geneva to Lyon ++
      ++ From Lyon Part Dieu there is a direct train (4 hours!) to Figueres Vilafant ++
      ++ From here, you're best off getting a taxi to Roses ++

    • Road

      ++ Car share from Switzerland via Geneva and Valence, continuing along the A7 to Orange ++
      ++ Turn off onto the A9 for Montpellier, Perpignan and cross the Spanish border ++
      ++ Stay on the motorway (in Spain it's called the AP-7) until exit 3 Figueres N / Roses, then follow the signs for Roses ++
      ++ In Roses, keep driving eastward, through the town centre, continuing along the coastal road to Carrer Rembrandt ++

    • Aeroplane

      ++ Fly from all European airports to Barcelona. From there, rent a car (175 km, 2h) or catch a bus (3h) straight to Roses ++

    Abonniere unseren Newsletter
    Abonniere unseren Newsletter

    Hello!
    Please select your language

GUIDE PRE-TRAINING: LEADERSHIP


FACTS

Stacks Image 448

LEVEL: ROT
Was ist mein Level?

++ Du möchtest mehr Verantwortung auf dem Wasser übernehmen oder andere Leute führen?Leadership Skills sind das allerwichtigste dafür ++
++ Drei intensive Tage Training an der Costa Brava, mit Basis in Roses ++
++ Lerne, Leute auf dem Meer zu führen, Rockhopping-Sessions sicher zu gestalten und zu leiten und in anspruchsvollen Situationen den Überblick zu behalten ++
++ Arbeiten mit CLAP und SAFER: Essentielle Skills für alle (angehenden) Seekajak-Guides! ++

PREIS: 700 CHF
Exkl. Bootsmiete*, An- und Abreise, Unterkunft und Verpflegung.

*Ein Kajak kann von uns für 100 CHF (3 Tage) gemietet werden.

Aufpreis bei weniger als 3 Personen: 200 CHF


UNSERE LEISTUNGEN:

Drei Paddeltage

08.–10.10.2022
Beginn & Ende: Roses, ES

++ JETZT BUCHEN ++

DETAILS

    • Intro
      Dieser dreitägige Intensivkurs ist offen für alle Paddler*innen auf mittlerem oder fortgeschrittenem Niveau, aber insbesondere allen dringend empfohlen, die planen, in näherer Zukunft den Sea Kayak Leader oder eine andere Guide-Lizenz zu machen. Mangelnde Leadership Skills, z.B. resultierend in schlechter Positionierung, mangelhafter Gruppenorganisation oder klaren Fehlentscheidungen in anspruchsvolleren Situationen, sind fast immer der Faktor, der dazu führt, dass Leute in der Prüfung durchfallen. Und fast immer ist die Ursache hierfür mangelnde Erfahrung im Umgang mit Gruppen in der Position des Leaders. Deshalb üben wir dies in diesen drei Tagen intensiv.

      CLAP und SAFER
      Eine zentrale Rolle in unserem Training wird den Prinzipien CLAP und SAFER und dem Einsatz verschiedener Leadership-Styles zukommen, die in verschiedenen Situationen mehr oder weniger angemessen sind. Wo positionierst du dich und wie kommunizierst du mit deiner Gruppe? Wie organisierst du den Überblick beim Rockhopping zwischen den Felsen? Wie viele Paddler*innen lässt du gleichzeitig in ein Feature? Wann ist es angemessen, die Zügel locker zu lassen, damit deine Gruppe auch ein Maximum an Spass hat und wann sind strengere Entscheidungen gefragt? Je mehr Gelegenheit du hast, all dies zu üben, desto sicherer wirst du sowohl bei deiner Prüfung als auch später beim Führen von Gruppen – egal ob dies professionell oder privat, mit Freunden, sein wird.

      Leadership Kurs vs. Incident Management
      Bei diesem Kurs geht es (primär) um Leadership solange die Dinge gut laufen. Anders ausgedrückt: Es geht darum, in einem sehr dynamischen Prozess auf dem Wasser sicherzustellen, dass sie gut laufen. Rettungen nach Kenterungen etc. werden zwar sicherlich vorkommen, stehen aber nicht im Vordergrund.

      Incident Management hingegen ist Leadership unter Druck. Das bedeutet: Bei unserer Incident Management Woche liegt der Fokus (primär) auf Situationen, die schon schief gelaufen sind. Hier geht es darum, dich und deine Gruppe in einer brenzligen Situation zu organisieren, damit diese nicht noch mehr aus dem Ruder läuft und Rettungen schnell, sauber und v.a. sicher ausgeführt werden.

      Die letzte Stufe auf dieser Problem-Eskalationsskala ist ein Unfall mit Verletzungen oder ein medizinischer Notfall. Unserer Meinung nach ist ein normaler Erste-Hilfe-Kurs für Situationen auf dem Meer oder an einer abgelegenen Küste nicht einmal ansatzweise ausreichend. Deshalb bieten wir euch auch den Marine Wilderness First Responder Kurs auf Sardinien an.

      Alle drei Kurse zusammen greifen Hand in Hand und bilden – neben einem guten paddeltechnischen Fundament – eine solide Basis für die Guide-Prüfung oder um Freund*innen auf dem Meer zu führen. Es spielt hierbei keine Rolle, ob du alle dieses Jahr machst oder Schritt für Schritt langsam aufbaust. Kontaktiere uns, wenn du Fragen haben solltest oder dir unsicher bist, ob dieser Intensivkurs das richtige für dich ist!
    • Tag 1
      Samstag, 08.10. – Kursbeginn
      Achtung: Bei diesem dreitägigen Kurscamp ist der Samstag bereits der erste Kurstag. Roses erreichst du sehr gut mit dem Bus ab Flughafen Barcelona. Für die letzten zwei Kilometer vom Busbahnhof im Zentrum zu unserem Camping nimmst du am besten Taxi.

      Bitte beachte, dass du deinen Platz auf dem Camping selbst reservieren musst.

      Wir beginnen den Kurs um 12:00 an Land – mit einer Vorstellungsrunde, dem Verteilen des notwendigen Materials und vor allem einer wichtigen theoretischen Einführung zum Thema Leadership – samt hoffentlich lebendiger Diskussion. Themen: CLAP, SAFER und Leadership Styles, Kommunikation und Briefings, die theoretische Basis für unseren ganzen Kurs! Um ca. 13:00 machen wir eine kleine Lunchpause.

      Aufs Wasser geht es von ca. 15:00 bis spätestes 19:00 Uhr. Da wir heute spät fertig sein werden, gehen wir ins Restaurant essen, das sich gleich gegenüber von unserem Camping befindet.
    • Tag 2
      Sonntag
      Heute sind wir den ganzen Tag auf dem Wasser. Die Felsküste, die gleich links neben unserem Campingplatz beginnt, ist der ideale Ort, um Leadership zu üben. Die Guiderolle wird in regelmässigen Abständen gewechselt, sodass alle genug Gelegenheit zum Leiten wie auch zum Paddeln als Gruppenmitglied bekommen werden. Der Schwerpunkt wird (je nach vorherrschenden Bedingungen) Rockhopping und/oder das Paddeln mit einer Gruppe in Wind und Wellen sein.

      Abends diskutieren wir die vielen Situationen, die sich den Tag über ergeben haben. Danach kochen wir etwas feines zusammen.
    • Tag 3
      Montag,
      Nochmal ein Tag auf dem Wasser, nochmal genug Gelegenheit, zu üben.

      Heute starten wir früh, denn heute werden wir spätestens um 15:00 vom Wasser sein, damit du nach dem Kurs, falls gewünscht, noch nach Hause fahren kannst. Eine Stunde müssen wir ganz sicher noch einplanen für unsere Feedbackrunde.
    • Mehr Infos
      Gruppengrösse: Mindestens zwei, maximal acht Teilnehmende.

      Wir stellen dir bei Bedarf gerne das benötigte Paddel- und Sicherheitsmaterial, bestehend aus Paddel, Schwimmweste und Spritzdecke sowie Neopren-Long-John, Schuhe, Paddeljacke und Helm zur Verfügung. Bitte bringe in jedem Fall eigene Funktionsunterwäsche (Wolle oder eng anliegendes Fleece, KEINE Baumwolle!) und Badebekleidung mit.

      Bootsmiete: Wenn du ohne eigenes Boot anreist, kannst du für die Dauer des Kurses eines unserer Kajaks für 100 CHF mieten.

      Ebenso kannst du auf Wunsch auch einen Trockenanzug bei uns mieten. Kosten: 120 CHF


      Gruppenkasse:
      Wie immer führen wir auch bei diesen Trainingstagen eine gemeinschaftliche Gruppenkasse für die Verpflegung. Genauer gesagt sogar zwei: Eine für Essen (Einlage 40 € pro Person) und eine für Alkohol (je nach Konsum bzw. Selbsteinschätzung). Du bist weder verpflichtet, in die Gruppenkasse einzuzahlen, noch mit uns gemeinsam zu essen. Aber das gemeinsame Kochen und Essen nach einem anstrengenden Paddeltag macht einfach Spass und stärkt nicht nur unsere müden Muskeln, sondern auch das Gemeinschaftsgefühl. Mehr zu diesem Thema findest du hier.

      Wetter: Natürlich können wir dir keine Garantie für Wetter und Seegang geben. Um die Sicherheit zu gewährleisten, entscheidet unser Guide vor Ort anhand unserer Sicherheitsregelungen jeden Tag aufs Neue über die Durchführbarkeit des Programms. Als erfahrene Seekajaker*innen wissen wir: Neptun hat stets das letzte Wort.

      Unfallversicherung ist Sache der Teilnehmenden. Wir empfehlen dir ausserdem dringend, eine Reiserücktrittsversicherung abzuschliessen. Bitte lese auch unsere AGB zu Stornogebühren, Fristen etc.
    Stacks Image 723
    Stacks Image 725
    Stacks Image 727
    Stacks Image 729
    Stacks Image 731
    Stacks Image 733

    VORAUSSETZUNGEN FÜR DIE TEILNAHME:

    ++ Schwimmkenntnisse ++
    ++ mind. 10 Tage Seekajakerfahrung auf dem Meer ++
    ++ Du sitzt sicher im Boot bei 3 Bft und Wellen von ca. 50 cm ++
    ++ Du willst lernen, bist bereit, drei Tage lang intensiv zu arbeiten und deine Komfortzone neu zu definieren ++

    Stacks Image 3

    KLICKE HIER, UM DEINEN PLATZ ZU RESERVIEREN


    So kommst du nach Roses, Camping Ampurdanes:

    • Zug

      ++ Mit dem Zug ab Genf nach Lyon++
      ++ Ab Lyon Part Dieu gibt es einen Direktzug (4h!) bis nach Figueres Vilafant ++
      ++ Ab hier am besten mit dem Taxi nach Roses ++

    • Auto

      ++ Fahrgemeinschaften ab Schweiz über Genf, Valence und auf der A7 weiter bis Orange ++
      ++ Dort abzweigen auf A9 Richtung Montpellier, Perpignan und über die spanische Grenze ++
      ++ Auf der Autobahn (ab Spanien hiesst sie AP-7) bleiben bis Ausfahrt 3 Figueres N / Roses, den Schildern folgen bis Roses ++
      ++ In Roses immer weiter nach Osten fahren, durchs Stadtzentrum hindurch und auf der Küstenstrasse weiter bis Carrer Rembrandt ++

    • Flugzeug

      ++ Von allen europäischen Flughäfen aus nach Barcelona. Von dort aus weiter per Mietwagen (175 km, 2h) oder Bus (3h) direkt nach Roses ++

    Abonniere unseren Newsletter
    Abonniere unseren Newsletter

    Hello!
    Please select your language