ASTURIAS: THE BEAUTY AND THE BEAST


FACTS

Stacks Image 448

++ Bigger, Better, Bizkaia ++
++ THE camp for all advanced paddlers ++
++ The finest Atlantic swell ++
++ The most beautiful surfing beaches ++
++ Phenomenal cliffs and rocks ++

COST: 1250 CHF
Excluding kayak-rent*, travel to and from the destination, accommodation and food.

*You can hire a kayak from us for 150 CHF.

Surcharge if fewer than 5 people attend: CHF 100

LEVEL: BLACK
What is my level?

04.–11.06.2022

DETAILS

    • Intro
      Asturias: beauty and the beast... Nothing could describe the coast of this fabulous area in northern Spain better. Seductive and incredibly beautiful. And at the same time – don't be lured into confusing this with beginner's territory. When Neptune plays his muscles and sends the swell thundering against the cliffs here, you can even feel his power from out on the land. Fortunately though, he usually means well with us and gives us top-class swell, which on the gentle premium surf beaches and rock gardens of the region gives us the most beautiful sea kayak conditions that you can only imagine.

      The idea behind this new course camp for advanced paddlers is similar to that of
      Big Tide Week on Jersey: a week spent based at one campsite on the coast, from which we launch off on day trips and course units along the most beautiful stretches of coast in the area, choosing our destinations in accordance with conditions on the day. And when it comes to beautiful coastlines, Asturias has plenty to offer. Here, over many thousands of years, the breakers of the Atlantic have produced one of the most beautiful and impressive coastlines there is. Miles of vertical coastal cliffs; bizarre, mystical rocky islands looming out of the mist; long, lonely premium surfing beaches – all of this is a lot more reminiscent of Ireland than it is of the Spain that most of us recognise: often cloudy, majestic, lonely, raw, relatively cool and green and just indescribably beautiful – one of the best places for an advanced kayaking camp, where pretty much everything we do revolves around swell and breakers. This means that this week for advanced paddlers is the perfect complement to our two course weeks on Jersey, where, as you would expect, it's all about tides and currents. Here in Asturias, we will also have a tidal range of about four metres – but compared to the swell, which regularly reaches heights of 2m or more, currents are relatively insignificant. Because of all this, here in Asturias, we will be dedicating a lot of time to the topic of breakers (starting, landing, surfing). One (of many) perfect beaches for this task will be right below our campsite. And right next door is where the long, majestic stretch of coastal cliffs begins. Kayaking along here, up and down the long, rounded swell of the Atlantic is an experience without equal. And, of course, a coastline like this also (depending on the swell) presents wonderful opportunities for rock hopping sessions – and all of this is to be had just around the corner from our campsite!

      During this week, we'll also be practising rescues in the surf and towing in the swell. Scenarios with this level of complexity require a certain degree of group coordination, skill, and some previous experience and confidence in dealing with your kayak, all of which are prerequisites for taking part in this course (see below). The experience which you gain here will round off your profile as an advanced paddler nicely, and you will learn and practise things which will be extremely useful to you in difficult situations or on more challenging expeditions. And – as all those of you who know us will already have come to expect – there'll be plenty of fun and enjoying the finer things in life during this week too!
    • Day 1
      Arrival (Saturday)
      As we will all presumably be making our way to Asturias in all manner of ways, we have a rough meeting time of Saturday afternoon on the "La Paz" campsite, Playa de Vidiago. We'll work out all the details as a group, as soon as we have a rough idea of how everyone is going to be travelling and when you'll be arriving.

      Our fantastically well-positioned campsite is on some hills which are right next to the sea (steps down to the beach), just outside the hamlet of Pendueles. It is only around a 20-minute drive from here to Llanes, with its beautiful old town centre. Here, there are all sorts of shops, as well as cafés, bars and restaurants, which may come in handy for celebrating the odd successful landing or which, if need be, are just the thing for riding out on a rainy day in style.
    • Day 2–7
      Day 2 to day 7
      Different day-trips every day, depending on the conditions (we'll do the planning together the night before):

      From Llanes, we can reach such premium spots a Playa Ballota, Playa de Torò, and the beach of Po (which is sheltered from the swell) and the cliffs of the offshore islands here. Setting off in the other direction from our campsite, and driving for about 20 minutes, we'll arrive at the jungle-like river delta of the Rio Deva, and we'll be able to explore the impressive cape of Punta de San Emeterio in our kayaks. Between these spots, and beyond: cliffs, rocks, beaches – and the endless ocean.

      If we drive just a bit further, other trips are also a possibility (Ribadesella etc.). But there's no need to overdo it, because we actually have everything we need right outside our front door.

      During this week, as always, Neptune will have the last word: if the forecast says the swell will be above 2 metres, or that the wind will be in excess of 6 Bft, our kayaks will have to stay on dry land. The aim is to expand your comfort zone, not to get your bones broken or trigger a maritime search and rescue operation. All of our activities are devised and carried out within the framework set by our ISKGA-certified safety and planning system. Once we are on site, they are constantly reevaluated. This means that our plans will change in accordance with current or forecast conditions as well as the needs – and the limits! – of the group.
    • Day 8
      Day 8 (Saturday)
      Travel back (independently organised)
    • Mehr Infos
      More info
      Group size: Min. four participants, max. eight.

      If required, we will be happy to provide you with the necessary paddle and safety material, consisting of a paddle, buoyancy aid and spray deck as well as a neoprene long john, shoes, paddle jacket and a helmet. Please bring your own functional underwear (wool or tight-fitting fleece, NO cotton!) And swimwear with you.

      Boat rental: If you arrive without your own boat, you can rent one of our kayaks for 150 CHF for the duration of the course.

      If you like, you can also rent a drysuit from us. Cost: CHF 120

      The kitty:
      As always, in Asturias we will also set up a kitty for meals. In fact, there will actually be two: one for food (€100 contribution per person) and one for alcohol (depending on how much you consume, or your best guess at it). Nobody is obliged to pay into the kitty, nor to eat together with us. But cooking and eating together after a strenuous day's paddling is just good fun, and not only does it help to strengthen our tired muscles; it also helps us to create a sense of community. Find more on this topic here.

      Weather:
      As you might expect, we can't make any guarantees in terms of weather or sea state. In order to ensure everyone's safety, our guide will decide how to carry out the planned programme locally on a daily basis, and whether to do so. As experienced sea kayakers, we know that Neptune always has the last word.

      Accident insurance is the responsibility of the participants.
      We also strongly recommend that you obtain travel cancellation insurance. Please read our GTC on the topic of cancellation fees, cancellation deadlines etc.
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 432
    Stacks Image 434
    Stacks Image 513
    Stacks Image 515
    Stacks Image 665
    Stacks Image 667
    Stacks Image 669
    Stacks Image 672
    Stacks Image 674
    Stacks Image 676
    Stacks Image 678
    Stacks Image 680
    Stacks Image 682

    PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS:

    ++ Must be able to swim ++
    ++ At least 20 days of sea kayaking experience on the sea (unless you are a whitewater kayaker who fancies trying something new) ++
    ++ You are confident in a kayak when there are waves and you can control your boat in tight situations (between rocks etc.) ++
    ++ Starting and landing in breakers of max. 1m ++
    ++ Experience of windy conditions (4 Bft or more) and currents ++
    ++ Familiar with the use of safety equipment such as tow lines etc. ++

    Stacks Image 3

    CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SPOT


    How to get to Playa de Vidiago, Asturias:

    • Aeroplane

      ++ You'll be best off flying to Santander (cost: from CHF 320 return) ++
      ++ From Santander, catch the ALSA bus to Unquera (70 km, 1hr 35min), where we can then pick you up. ++
      ++ Alternatively, there are also very cheap flights from Zurich to Bilbao (Swiss, from about CHF 200 return, flight time 1hr 55 min). From Bilbao, however, it's still a 170 km (3hr 15 min) bus journey to Unquera. ++
      ++ If a few of you get together, it may make sense to rent a car at the airport (around CHF 120 or more for a week). This will shorten the journey from Bilbao to about one-and-a-half hours and will take you straight to the campsite. ++

      ++ We can talk about travel details and get things organised closer to the time, as soon as we know how everyone is going to be travelling and when you'll be arriving. ++

    • Rail

      ++ Travelling to Asturias by train is something of a world tour – but it can be done via San Sebastian, Bilbao & Santander ++

    • Road

      ++ Car: carshare from Switzerland ++
      ++ From Santander stay on the "Autovia Cantabrico (A8)" and then take the Vidiago exit; signs will point you to the campsite ++
      ++ Where possible, we'll do what we can to coordinate carshares ++

    Hello!
    Please select your language

SWELL & SURF CAMP ASTURIEN


FACTS

Stacks Image 448

++ Bigger, Better, Biscaya ++
++ DAS Camp für alle fortgeschrittenen Paddler*innen ++
++ Feinster Atlantik-Swell ++
++ Die schönsten Surfstrände ++
++ Phänomenale Steilküsten und Felsen ++

PREIS: 1290 CHF
Exkl. An- und Abreise, Unterkunft und Verpflegung. Aufpreis bei weniger als 5 Personen: 100 CHF

LEVEL: SCHWARZ
Was ist mein Level?

04.–11.09.2021

DETAILS

    • Intro
      Du hast Erfahrung bei Touren auf dem Mittelmeer gesammelt, warst vielleicht sogar schon mit uns auf Jersey und suchst nun nach neuen Herausforderungen? Dann komm mit uns nach Asturien!

      Das Konzept dieses brandneuen Kurscamps für Fortgeschrittene ist ähnlich wie das der
      Big Tide Week auf Jersey: Eine Woche fix installiert auf einem Campingplatz am Meer und von dort aus, optimal angepasst an die aktuellen Bedingungen, Tagesfahrten und Kurseinheiten entlang der schönsten Küstenabschnitte der Gegend. Und gerade diesbezüglich hat Asturien tatsächlich so einiges zu bieten! Hier hat die Brandung des Atlantiks über viele, viele Jahrtausende hinweg eine der schönsten und imposantesten Küstenlinien entstehen lassen, die wir jemals gesehen haben: Kilometerlange, senkrechte Klippenabschnitte, bizarre Felsinseln, die mystisch aus dem Nebel ragen und breite, einsame Premium-Surfstrände erinnern im Gesamten eher an Irland als an das Bild, das die meisten Leute von Spanien im Kopf haben: Oft neblig, majestätisch, einsam, rau, verhältnismässig kühl und grün und einfach unbeschreiblich schön – einer der besten Orte für ein Fortgeschrittenencamp, bei dem sich praktisch alles um das Thema Swell und Brandung dreht. Somit ist diese Woche für fortgeschrittene Paddler die perfekte Ergänzung zu unseren beiden Kurswochen auf Jersey, wo sich naturgemäss fast alles um Gezeiten und Strömungen dreht. Hier in Asturien haben wir zwar auch rund vier Meter Tidenhub – aber Strömungen spielen, im Vergleich zum Swell, der hier regelmässig Höhen von 2m und mehr erreicht, praktisch keine Rolle. Wir werden deswegen in Asturien viel Zeit dem Thema Brandung (Starten, Landen, Surfen) widmen. Einer (von vielen) perfekten Stränden für dieses Vorhaben befindet sich direkt unter unserem Campingplatz. Direkt daneben beginnt auch gleich die lange, majestätische Steilküste, deren Befahrung im Auf und Ab der langen, runden Dünung des Atlantiks ein unvergleichliches Erlebnis ist. Und natürlich sind an einer solchen Küste auch (je nach Swell) allerfeinste Rockhopping-Sessions möglich – alles in unmittelbarer Nähe zu unserem Campingplatz!

      Während unserer Woche werden wir auch Rettungen in der Brandung oder das Abschleppen im Swell üben. Solche komplexen Szenarien verlangen einiges an Gruppenkoordination, Geschick und eine gewisse Vorerfahrung und Sicherheit im Boot, die wir für die Teilnahme an diesem Kurs voraussetzen (siehe unten). Die hier gesammelte Erfahrung wird dein Profil als fortgeschrittene*r Paddler*in optimal abrunden und du wirst Dinge lernen und üben, die dir in schwierigen Situationen oder auf anspruchsvolleren Expeditionen extrem hilfreich sein werden. Und natürlich – wer uns kennt, der weiss das ohnehin – werden bei alledem ganz besonders auch Spass und Genuss keineswegs zu kurz kommen!
    • Tag 1
      Anreise (Samstag)
      Da wir alle vermutlich auf unterschiedlichsten Wegen nach Asturien kommen werden, machen wir als grobe Treffzeit einfach Samstagnachmittag auf dem Campingplatz «La Paz», Playa de Vidiago, aus. Alle Details machen wir in der Gruppe ab, wenn wir ungefähr wissen, wann wer wie anreist und ankommt.

      Unser fantastisch gelegene Campingplatz befindet sich auf den Hügeln direkt über dem Meer (Zugang zum Strand über eine Treppe), ausserhalb des kleinen Örtchens «Pendueles». Mit dem Auto sind es von hier aus ca. 20 Minuten bis nach Llanes mit seinem sehr schönen alten Stadtkern. Hier gibt es diverse Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sowie genügend Cafés, Bars und Restaurants, um eine erfolgreiche Landung zu begiessen oder auch einmal einen regnerischen Tag bestens zu überstehen.
    • Tag 2–7
      Tage 2 bis 7
      Jeden Tag wechselnde Tagestrips, je nach Bedingungen (Planung jeweils gemeinsam am Vorabend):

      Von Llanes aus mit dem Kajak zu erreichen sind z.B. die Premium-Spots Playa Ballota, Playa de Torò oder der vor Swell geschützte Strand Poo mit seinen vorgelagerten Klippeninseln. In der anderen Richtung ca. 20 Autominuten von unserem Camping entfernt liegt Unquera, von wo wir das dschungelige Flussdelta des Rio Deva und das imposante Kap Punta de San Emeterio per Kajak erforschen können. Dazwischen und jenseits dieser beiden Punkte: Steilküste, Felsen, Strände – und der endlose Ozean.

      Mit kleinerer Autofahrt sind auch etwas weitere Ausflüge (Ribadesella etc.) möglich. Übertreiben wollen wir es dennoch nicht, denn wir haben eigentlich alles was wir brauchen, direkt vor der Haustür.

      Wie immer hat auch während dieser Woche Neptun das letzte Wort: Ab einer Swell-Vorhersage von über 2 Metern oder 6 Bft Wind bleiben unsere Boote auch auf diesem Niveau grundsätzlich trocken. Ziel ist es, eure Komfortzone zu erweitern, nicht euch die Knochen zu brechen oder eine Seenotrettung auszulösen. Alle unsere Aktivitäten werden im Rahmen unseres ISKGA-zertifizierten Sicherheits- und Planungssystems konzipiert und durchgeführt und vor Ort permanent re-evaluiert, was bedeutet, dass sie Tag für Tag an die aktuell vorhergesagten oder realen Bedingungen sowie die Bedürfnisse – aber auch Limite! – der Gruppe angepasst werden.
    • Tag 8
      Tag 8 (Samstag)
      Rückreise (selbst organisiert)
    • Mehr Infos
      Teilnehmerzahl: Minimal vier, maximal acht. Diese Tour wird nur mit zwei Guides durchgeführt.

      Im Preis inbegriffen sind Boot, Paddel, Schwimmweste und Spritzdecke sowie, falls benötigt, Neopren-Long-John, Schuhe, Paddeljacke und Helm. Bitte bringe in jedem Fall eigene Funktionsunterwäsche (Wolle oder eng anliegendes Fleece, KEINE Baumwolle!) und Badebekleidung mit.

      Du kannst auf Wunsch auch einen Trockenanzug bei uns mieten. Kosten: 120 CHF


      Gruppenkasse:
      Wie immer führen wir auch in Asturien eine gemeinschaftliche Gruppenkasse für die Verpflegung. Genauer gesagt sogar zwei: Eine für Essen (Einlage 100 € pro Person) und eine für Alkohol (je nach Konsum bzw. Selbsteinschätzung). Du bist weder verpflichtet, in die Gruppenkasse einzuzahlen, noch mit uns gemeinsam zu essen. Aber das gemeinsame Kochen und Essen nach einem anstrengenden Paddeltag macht einfach Spass und stärkt nicht nur unsere müden Muskeln, sondern auch das Gemeinschaftsgefühl. Mehr zu diesem Thema findest du hier.

      Wetter: Natürlich können wir dir keine Garantie für Wetter und Seegang geben. Um die Sicherheit zu gewährleisten, entscheidet unser Guide vor Ort anhand unserer Sicherheitsregelungen jeden Tag aufs Neue über die Durchführbarkeit des Programms. Als erfahrene Seekajaker wissen wir: Neptun hat stets das letzte Wort.

      Unfallversicherung ist Sache der Teilnehmer. Wir empfehlen dir ausserdem dringend, eine Reiserücktrittsversicherung abzuschliessen. Bitte lese auch unsere AGB zu Stornogebühren, Fristen etc.
    Stacks Image 424
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 432
    Stacks Image 434
    Stacks Image 513
    Stacks Image 515

    VORAUSSETZUNGEN FÜR DIE TEILNAHME:

    ++ Schwimmkenntnisse ++
    ++ Mindestens 7 Tage Seekajakerfahrung auf dem Meer (Ausnahme: Wildwasserkajaker mit Lust auf Neues) ++
    ++ Du sitzt sicher im Boot auch bei Wellen und beherrschst dein Boot auch in engen Verhältnissen (zwischen Felsen etc.) ++
    ++ Starten und Landen in Brandung bis max. 1m ++
    ++ Erfahrung mit Wind (4 Bft oder mehr) und Strömung ++
    ++ Vertraut im Umgang mit Sicherheitsausrüstung wie Schleppleine etc. ++

    Stacks Image 3

    KLICKE HIER, UM DEINEN PLATZ ZU RESERVIEREN


    So kommst du nach Playa de Vidiago, Asturien:

    • Flugzeug

      ++ Am besten bequem mit dem Flugzeug nach Santander (ab ca. 320 CHF hin und zurück) ++
      ++ Von dort aus weiter mit dem ALSA Bus bis Unquera (70 km, 1h 35min), wo wir euch abholen können. ++
      ++ Alternativ gibt es auch sehr günstige Direktflüge von Zürich nach Bilbao (Swiss, ab rund 200 CHF hin und zurück, Flugzeit 1h 55 min), von wo aus es dann bis nach Unquera allerdings noch einmal 170 km und 3h 15 min mit dem Bus sind. ++
      ++ Eventuell macht es auch Sinn, am Flughafen einen Wagen zu mieten, wenn sich mehrere Leute zusammentun (eine Woche ab ca. 120 CHF). Das verkürzt die Fahrzeit von Bilbao aus auf nur rund anderthalb Stunden, direkt bis zum Campingplatz. ++


      ++
      Die Details der Anreise besprechen und organisieren wir daher zeitnah, sobald wir wissen, wer wann wie anreist und ankommt. ++

    • Zug

      ++ Mit dem Zug ist es leider eine ziemliche Weltreise bis nach Asturien – möglich ist es über San Sebastian, Bilbao, Santander ++

    • Auto

      ++ Auto: Fahrgemeinschaften ab Schweiz ++
      ++ Ab Santander immer auf der "Autovia Cantabrico (A8)" bleiben und die Ausfahrt Vidiago nehmen; der Campingplatz ist ausgeschildert ++
      ++ Wir versuchen, falls möglich, Fahrgemeinschaften zu koordinieren ++

    Hello!
    Please select your language