SKANDINAVIA TRILOGY 1: HELSINKI–TURKU


FACTS

Stacks Image 510

++ The first leg of our three part trip from Helsinki to Stockholm ++
++ Are you ready for one of the greatest sea kayak adventures in Europe? ++
++ Over a period of three summers, we'll be crossing the entire Baltic from Finland to Sweden, through the most beautiful archipelagos in Scandinavia: thousands of islands are waiting for you, your kayak, and your tent ++

COST: 2100 CHF
Excluding travel to and from the destination, accommodation and food. Surcharge if fewer than 4 people attend: CHF 250

LEVEL: GREEN
What is my level?

13.–26.06.2021

DETAILS

    • Overview
      Two weeks paddling through the archipelagos of southern Finland. And the same again the year after. And in the third year it'll be the grand finale, hopping across the Baltic for a triumphant arrival in Stockholm. The best of Scandinavia in three stages, each one almost exactly 120 nm (222 km) in length. Coming?

      There’s not much more to say about this tour, really. Pretty much everyone who has kayaked in Scandinavia has dreamt of embarking on this great adventure. And now we're going to do it. Two weeks of kayak camping and the best of Scandinavian friluftsliv, every summer, for three summers. And even though we have a clear aim for these three summers – there's something else we want to make just as clear: we don't want to “conquer” the Baltic – we want to experience it. Ultimately, the thing that matters here, even more than the physical challenge, is the fact that we want to live in nature: a new camp every evening, surrounded by nothing but the landscape and the elements, enjoying the peace and the inner calm. And during the day we’ll paddle, mile after mile, through a fascinating paradise of islands, sometimes calm and peaceful, sometimes windy and wild.

      The south-west coast of Finland is unique, as it has very little to do with what we usually associate with the word “coast”. It's more of a fluid transition from water with lots of land, to land with lots of water. In the inner area of the archipelago, you barely even notice that you are paddling in the sea. Here, it's forested, calm, and sheltered, just like kayaking on a lake. On the outer skerries (rocky islands), it's a completely different story: here the vegetation is sparse, and the thinly scattered islands are often just bare outcrops of rock, with the wind sweeping in almost unhindered across the open sea. This tour will give us plenty of both: there will be quiet, relaxed sections across placid waters, where we’ll sleep on wooded islands – and there will be sections where we’ll be exposed, paddling across open water, from rocky island to rocky island, surrounded by nothing by the big, blue Baltic Sea.
    • Day 1
      Day 1
      Over the course of the day, we’ll meet up in Helsinki – on the extremely urban campsite of Rastila, not far from the big Vuosaari Bridge. This very centrally located but otherwise not desperately charming campsite is ideal for our purposes, as it is almost right on the water’s edge and is very easy to reach by public transport. So, this is the best place to use as a launching point for setting off on our great adventure.

      There’s no specific meeting time as such. Those of you who would like to arrive on Saturday and have a wander around the beautiful city of Helsinki are of course welcome to do so. Yuri will arrive by ferry from Tallinn at some point on Sunday. In the evening, we’ll cook something together and work out our plan for the next two weeks. Whilst in Estonia, Yuri will already have got hold of supplies for the first few days, so it won’t be necessary to go on a big shopping mission in Helsinki. This should save us quite a bit of time. During the tour, we’ll buy local specialities and additional supplies as we go. This also means that we won’t have to load our kayaks to the gunwales with food.
    • Day 2–12
      Day 2 to day 12
      From today onwards, your days will only consist of the following things: sea kayaking, camping, cooking, eating, and sleeping. And we will enjoy each of these activities to the fullest. The first few days, we'll kayak towards the south-east, past a thousand skerries, until we get to the southern tip of the Hanko peninsula, which is the southernmost point of the Finnish mainland. This is where the little town of Hanko is to be found, a perfect spot for shore leave, and a place where we can also stock up on supplies.

      From here, we’ll be heading off in a north-eastward direction. The next 9 nm (16 km) or so will be a bit more exposed. Here, we’ll be passing only smaller skerries, but they’ll all be big enough for us to make an emergency camp if we need to. Soon, the islands will start getting bigger again – we’ll leave the outer skerries and enter the archipelago of Åboland, a landscape in which land and sea blur into one another.

      Whenever the weather cooperates, we’ll travel at least 13 nm (25 km) per day on this tour. If the wind ends up messing up our plans on any particular day (which we can safely assume will happen!), then we may end up having to extend the distances we travel on the other days. A bit of slack is built into our schedule – but on a tour like this, anything's possible.
    • Day 13-15
      Day 13 to day 15
      At some point on the 13th day, we should arrive in Turku. As this city of 190,000 doesn’t have a centrally located campsite, we’ll be ending the tour somewhat outside the city at the “Ruissalo” campsite. From here, it's about 20 minutes on the No. 8 bus to the railway station.

      Quite how we’ll end up spending the last evening of our tour is something we don’t really want to set in stone yet. But one thing’s for sure: we’ll be celebrating our arrival, and surely drinking a toast to the next time we will all be together again – next year, for the second leg!

      Depending on how you are planning to get back home again, Turku provides a number of possibilities, all of which are very straightforward. On the one hand, it’s easy to fly straight back home from here, but you can also take the train to Helsinki (2 hour journey), and then catch the ferry from there back to Travemünde.
    • More info
      Group size: Min. four participants, max. eight.

      The price includes
      boats, paddles, life jackets, spray decks and, if required, neoprene long johns, shoes, paddling jackets and helmets. Also, make sure you bring your own functional underwear (wool or snug-fitting fleece, NOT cotton!) and swimming costume.

      If you like, you can also rent a drysuit from us. Cost: CHF 200

      The kitty:
      As always, in Finland we will also set up a kitty for meals. In fact, there will actually be two: one for food (€200 contribution per person) and one for alcohol (depending on how much you consume, or your best guess at it). Nobody is obliged to pay into the kitty, nor to eat together with us. But cooking and eating together after a strenuous day's paddling is just good fun, and not only does it help to strengthen our tired muscles; it also helps us to create a sense of community. Find more on this topic here.

      Weather: As you might expect, we can't make any guarantees in terms of weather or sea state. In order to ensure everyone's safety, our guide will decide how to carry out the planned programme locally on a daily basis, and whether to do so. As experienced sea kayakers, we know that Neptune always has the last word.

      Accident insurance is the responsibility of the participants.
      We also strongly recommend that you obtain travel cancellation insurance. Please read our GTC on the topic of cancellation fees, cancellation deadlines etc.
    Stacks Image 424
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 514
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 536
    Stacks Image 538
    Stacks Image 540
    Stacks Image 542
    Stacks Image 544
    Stacks Image 546
    Stacks Image 548

    PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS:

    ++ Must be able to swim ++
    ++ You are confident out on a lake in a kayak and you can do the basics ++
    ++ You can deal with your spray deck independently, getting in and out of your kayak etc. ++
    ++ You are confident paddling in Beaufort force 3 and small waves ++
    ++ You are fit enough to spend 14 days paddling around 16 nm (25 km) per day ++
    ++ You are an experienced and enthusiastic camper ++
    ++ You love being in remote places and enjoy simple outdoor living ++

    Stacks Image 3

    CLICK HERE TO RESERVE YOUR SPOT


    How to get to Helsinki:

    • Rail & public transport

      ++ Much easier than you’d think: a comfortable and low-cost journey from Switzerland to Hamburg by night train. From there, it’s a 1 hour 40 minute train trip to the Travemünde's Scandinavia Quay. ++
      ++ The ferry to Helsinki is a mini cruise! Enjoy 29 hours at sea with a sauna, Scandinavian buffet, and drinks on the sundeck! ++

    • Road

      ++ From Switzerland, drive through Germany to Travemünde ++
      ++ From there, catch the ferry described under “Rail & public transport” ++
      ++ Only makes sense if you want to carry on travelling around in Finland / Scandinavia. Otherwise, our recommendation is: take the train. Taking the car on the ferry means you'll just have an unnecessary and expensive extra load ++

    • Aeroplane

      ++ You can fly to Helsinki from all over the world with all sorts of different airlines ++

    Hello!
    Please select your language

SKANDINAVIEN TRILOGIE 1: HELSINKI–TURKU


FACTS

Stacks Image 510

++ Teil 1 unserer dreiteiligen Seekajakreise von Helsinki nach Stockholm ++
++ Bist du bereit für eines der grössten Seekajakabenteuer in Europa? ++
++ Wir kreuzen in drei Sommern die gesamte Ostsee von Finnland nach Schweden, durch die schönsten Schärengärten Skandinaviens: Tausende von Inseln warten auf dich, dein Kajak und dein Zelt ++

PREIS: 2100 CHF
Exkl. An- und Abreise, Unterkunft und Verpflegung. Aufpreis bei weniger als 4 Personen: 250 CHF

LEVEL: GRÜN
Was ist mein Level?

13.–26.06.2021

DETAILS

    • Überblick
      Zwei Wochen lang durch die Schärengärten Südfinnlands paddeln. Und nächstes Jahr wieder. Und im dritten Jahr das grosse Finale mit dem Sprung über die Ostsee samt Zieleinfahrt in Stockholm. Skandinavien pur in drei Abschnitten von jeweils ziemlich genau 222 km. Bist du dabei?

      Viel mehr braucht man zu dieser Tour eigentlich kaum zu sagen. Fast jede*r Skandinavienpaddler*in hat schon einmal von diesem grossen Abenteuer geträumt. Wir machen es jetzt wahr. Drei Sommer lang jeweils zwei Wochen Kajak-Camping und skandinavisches Friluftsliv vom feinsten. Auch wenn wir in diesen drei Sommern ein klares Ziel haben – so wollen wir deutlich mache: Wir wollen nicht die Ostsee "bezwingen" – wir wollen sie erleben. Im Kern geht es nämlich, noch vor der sportlichen Herausforderung, vor allem um eines: Wir möchten in der Natur leben, jeden Abend ein neues Camp, umgeben von nichts ausser den Elementen, Ruhe und innerer Frieden. Und tagsüber paddeln wir Kilometer um Kilometer durch ein faszinierendes Inselparadies, mal ruhig und friedlich, mal windig und wild.

      Die finnische Südwestküste ist einzigartig, da sie eigentlich in keiner Weise dem gleicht, was wir von einer "Küste" gewohnt sind: Vielmehr ist sie ein fliessender Übergang von Wasser mit viel Land zu Land mit viel Wasser. Im inneren Bereich des Schärengartens hat man kaum das Gefühl, dass man auf dem Meer paddelt. Hier ist es waldig, ruhig und geschützt wie auf einem See. Auf den äusseren Schären aber sieht es ganz anders aus: Hier ist die Vegetation karg, oft sind die dünn gestreuten Inseln bloss nackter Fels – und zwischendrin pfeift der Wind fast ungebremst übers offene Meer. Auf dieser Tour wird es von beidem genügend geben: Wir werden ruhige, entspannte Abschnitte auf still stehendem Wasser haben, auf waldigen Inseln schlafen – und es wird Abschnitte geben, auf denen wir exponiert über offenes Wasser paddeln, von Felseninsel zu Felseninsel, nur umgeben von der weiten, blauen Ostsee…
    • Tag 1
      Tag 1
      Wir treffen uns im Laufe des Tages in Helsinki – auf dem sehr urbanen Campingplatz Rastila, nah an der grossen Vuosaari Brücke. Dieser recht zentral gelegene, ansonsten aber eher wenig charmante Campingplatz ist ideal, weil er fast direkt am Wasser liegt und sehr gut mit ÖV erreicht werden kann. So oder so brauchen wir diesen Platz lediglich als Basis, von der aus wir unser grosses Abenteuer starten werden.

      Eine Treffzeit gibt es keine. Wer Samstags schon anreisen möchte, der kann dies natürlich gerne tun und sich das sehr schöne Helsinki anschauen. Yuri wird irgendwann am Sonntag mit der Fähre aus Tallinn eintreffen. Abends werden wir gemeinsam etwas kochen und den Plan für die nächsten beiden Wochen schmieden. Die Vorräte für die ersten Tage wird Yuri aus Estland mitbringen, sodass ein grösserer Einkauf in Helsinki entfällt. Das spart Zeit. Lokale Spezialitäten und weitere Vorräte werden wir dann auf unserer Tour ich und nach einkaufen. So müssen wir auch nicht unsere Kajaks bis zum Rand mit Nahrung beladen.
    • Tag 2–12
      Tag 2 bis 12
      Ab heute werden deine Tage nur noch bestimmt werden von den folgenden Dingen: Seekajakfahren, Campen, Kochen, Essen und Schlafen. Und all das werden wir in vollen Zügen tun und geniessen. Wir paddeln die ersten tag in Richtung Südosten, vorbei an tausend Schären, bis zur Südspitze der Halbinsel Hankoniemi, die den südlichsten Punkt des finnischen Festlandes markiert. Hier befindet sich das kleinere Städtchen Hanko, das sich perfekt für einen Landgang eignet, bei dem wir unsere Vorräte auffüllen werden.

      Ab hier geht es nun in Richtung Nordosten. Die nächsten rund 16 km sind etwas exponierter. Hier passieren wir nur noch kleinere Schären, die aber allesamt gross genug sind für ein Notcamp, falls dieses nötig sein sollte. Bald schon aber werden die Inseln wieder grösser – wir verlassen die äusseren Schären und tauchen ein in Archipel von Åboland, einer Landschaft, in der Meer und Land komplett miteinander verschwimmen.

      Wann immer das Wetter mitmacht, werden wir auf unserer Tour mindestens 25 km paddeln. Sollte der Wind aber uns an einigen Tagen einen Strich durch die Rechnung machen (wovon hier eigentlich ausgegangen werden muss), werden wir eventuell die Strecken an anderen Tagen verlängern müssen. Reservetage sind zwar eingerechnet – aber möglich ist bei so einer Tour schliesslich immer alles.
    • Tag 13-15
      Tag 13–15
      Irgendwann um den 13. Tag herum sollten wir in Turku eintreffen. Da die rund 190.000 Einwohner zählende Stadt keinen zentralen Campingplatz hat, werden wir etwas ausserhalb, auf dem Camping "Ruissalo" die Tour beenden. Von hier aus fährt der Bus Nr. 8 in rund 20 Minuten zum Bahnhof.

      Wie wir genau den letzten Abend unserer Tour verbringen werden, wollen wir jetzt noch nicht festlegen. Fest steht, dass wir unsere Ankunft feiern – und sicherlich auch auf ein Wiedersehen bei der zweiten Teilstrecke im nächsten Jahr anstossen – werden.

      Je nachdem, wie ihr plant nach Hause zu kommen, gibt es verschiedene Möglichkeiten ab Turku – allesamt sehr unkompliziert. Es ist einerseits möglich, direkt ab hier zurück nach Hause zu fliegen; oder aber den Zug nach Helsinki (2h Fahrzeit) zu nehmen, um von dort aus mit der Fähre nach Travemünde zu fahren.
    • Mehr Infos
      Gruppengrösse: Vier bis acht Teilnehmer

      Im Preis inbegriffen
      sind Boot, Paddel, Schwimmweste und Spritzdecke sowie, falls benötigt, Neopren-Long-John, Schuhe, Paddeljacke und Helm. Bitte bringe in jedem Fall eigene Funktionsunterwäsche (Wolle oder eng anliegendes Fleece, KEINE Baumwolle!) und Badebekleidung mit.

      Du kannst auf Wunsch auch einen Trockenanzug bei uns mieten. Kosten: 200 CHF


      Gruppenkasse:
      Wie immer führen wir auch in Finnland eine gemeinschaftliche Gruppenkasse für die Verpflegung. Genauer gesagt sogar zwei: Eine für Essen (Einlage 200 € pro Person) und eine für Alkohol (je nach Konsum bzw. Selbsteinschätzung). Du bist weder verpflichtet, in die Gruppenkasse einzuzahlen, noch mit uns gemeinsam zu essen. Aber das gemeinsame Kochen und Essen nach einem anstrengenden Paddeltag macht einfach Spass und stärkt nicht nur unsere müden Muskeln, sondern auch das Gemeinschaftsgefühl. Mehr zu diesem Thema findest du hier.

      Wetter: Natürlich können wir dir keine Garantie für Wetter und Seegang geben. Um die Sicherheit zu gewährleisten, entscheidet unser Guide vor Ort anhand unserer Sicherheitsregelungen jeden Tag aufs Neue über die Durchführbarkeit des Programms. Als erfahrene Seekajaker wissen wir: Neptun hat stets das letzte Wort.

      Unfallversicherung ist Sache der Teilnehmer. Wir empfehlen dir ausserdem dringend, eine Reiserücktrittsversicherung abzuschliessen. Bitte lese auch unsere AGB zu Stornogebühren, Fristen etc.
    Stacks Image 424
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 514
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 536
    Stacks Image 538
    Stacks Image 540
    Stacks Image 542
    Stacks Image 544
    Stacks Image 546
    Stacks Image 548

    VORAUSSETZUNGEN FÜR DIE TEILNAHME:

    ++ Schwimmkenntnisse ++
    ++ Du sitzt auf dem See sicher im Boot und die Basics funktionieren ++
    ++ Der Umgang mit der Spritzdecke, Ein- und Ausstieg etc. funktionieren selbstständig ++
    ++ Du paddelst sicher in 3 Bft und kleineren Wellen ++
    ++ Du bist fit genug, um 14 Tage lang jeden Tag rund 25 km zu paddeln ++
    ++ Du bist campingerfahren und -begeistert ++
    ++ Du liebst die Abgeschiedenheit und das einfache Leben draussen ++

    Stacks Image 3

    KLICKE HIER, UM DEINEN PLATZ ZU RESERVIEREN


    So kommst du nach Helsinki:

    • Zug & ÖV

      ++ Das geht viel besser als man denkt: Ab Schweiz bequem und günstig mit dem Nachtzug nach Hamburg. Von dort aus in 1h 40m weiter mit dem Zug nach Travemünde Skandinavienkai. ++
      ++ Die Fähre nach Helsinki ist eine kleine Kreuzfahrt! Geniesse die 29 Stunden auf See mit Sauna, Skandinavischem Buffet und Drinks auf dem Sonnendeck! ++

    • Auto

      ++ Von der Schweiz aus einmal durch Deutschland bis nach Travemünde ++
      ++ Von dort aus wie bei "Zug & ÖV" beschrieben mit der Fähre ++
      ++ Macht nur Sinn, wenn du in Finnland / Skandinavien weiterreisen möchtest. Ansonsten empfehlen wir: Nimm den Zug. Das Auto auf der Fähre ist nur unnötiger und teurer Ballast ++

    • Flugzeug

      ++ Von überall auf der Welt und mit zahllosen Fluglinien bis Helsinki ++

    Hello!
    Please select your language