JERSEY: TIDES & ROCKS CAMP


FACTS

Stacks Image 511

++++ One of our most popular courses – feels like (and is indeed…) a real holiday ++
++ Day trips with loads of technical, playful paddling ++
++ Tides, tide races, rocks, surf ++
++ Accommodation at the legendary Bakehouse Cottage ++
++ More sun than you'd think! ++
++ COMPULSORY: A burger at the "Hungry Man"! ++

COST: 1290 CHF
Excluding travel to and from the destination, accommodation and food. Surcharge if fewer than 5 people attend: CHF 100

SPECIAL OFFER PRICE FOR BOTH JERSEY WEEKS TOGETHER: CHF 2200

LEVEL: RED
What is my level?

08.–15.05.2021

DETAILS

    • Day 1
      Day 1 (arrival)
      Independent travel to Jersey. Once you've found your way to our super-cosy cottage in St Clement, you can focus on enjoying yourself and together we'll ease ourselves into getting everything ready: setting up boats and equipment, buying supplies, cooking, drinking ale and getting to know everyone... and enjoying the wonderful atmosphere of our cottage, of course! That'll probably do for today...
    • Day 2–7
      Day 2 to day 7
      Jersey, the largest of the British Channel Islands, and just off the coast of France, has everything that a sea kayaker could possibly want: enormous surfing beaches with Atlantic breakers, craggy coastal cliffs and rocks, turquoise waters with a moderate temperature year-round and, last but not least, enormous tidal ranges with fantastic tide races, guaranteeing some very serious fun and challenges. In short, Jersey provides fantastic conditions for paddling, from easy to very challenging, and it's possible to learn a great deal here over a very short period, and to have great fun doing so. For our week of paddling, we plan five day-tours, each of which will be actual conditions when we are out there. If the weather and the tides are right, we'll be able to do the 10 km (5.5 nm) crossing to the lonely fisherman's island of “Les Écréhous” too. This is a spot where we have particularly good chances of encountering seals and dolphins.

      Of course, the verdant island paradise of Jersey has plenty to offer besides kayaking: A unique mixture of English style and French influence, palm trees in front of almost every house, freshly-drawn ale in the pub, excellent seafood in the restaurants in the marina, a juicy burger at the “Hungry Man” food stand in the picturesque bay of Rozel... Another must is the “seabed walk”: On one of the days during this week, we won't paddle around the sea in our kayaks – instead, we'll explore the seabed in our wellies. Trudy, our professional seabed guide, will take us on an unforgettable walk across the enormous area which emerges around Seymour Tower, on the southern coast of the island, at low tide. Not only will we learn everything about seagrass, oysters and the astonishing forms of life which thrive in this unique ecosystem – we'll also be able to marvel at the rock gardens that we will just have been paddling through, but this time from several metres further down!
    • Day 8
      Day 8 (departure)
      For all those of you who are just taking part in Week 1, it will now be time to go back home again. For those of you who have booked “Big Tide Week” (Week 2), today will provide you with a pleasant opportunity for rest... You're going to need it, because Big Tide Week is going to be pretty exciting!
    • Specials
      On Jersey, you have the option of doing the following British Canoeing (formerly “BCU”) courses and awards in addition to our “standard” programme:

      Coastal Navigation and Tidal Planning
      This one-day course is THE foundation for all of your sea kayaking adventures. Whether you spend most of your time on the Mediterranean, the Baltic, of in tidal waters, this is where you will learn all of the basic theory that you'll need in order to plan and carry out tours of your own. This course is a requirement for anyone who wants to train to become a BC Sea Kayak Leader (see below). Cost: £119 plus (optionally) £20 for the attendance certificate (UK residents: £10).

      Sea Kayak Award (formerly “BCU 3-Star”)
      If you would like to, you can do the Sea Kayak Award as part of our week of paddling. If you choose this option, you will be more carefully “observed” during the week out on the water and you will have to demonstrate certain skills from time to time. At the end, there will just be a small extra charge for the certificate, which you will be sent by BC.

      Sea Kayak Leader (formerly “BCU 4-Star”)
      Internationally, the
      BC Sea Kayak Leader is the most widespread and best-known licence for working as a guide there is, whether you seek to do such work professionally or in a club context. If you are interested in this training course, contact us and we can talk over the details.
    • More info
      Group size: Min. four participants, max. eight.

      The price includes
      boats, paddles, life jackets, spray decks and, if required, neoprene long johns, shoes, paddling jackets and helmets. Also, make sure you bring your own functional underwear (wool or snug-fitting fleece, NOT cotton!) and swimming costume.

      If you like, you can also rent a drysuit from us. Cost: CHF 120

      The kitty:
      As always, on Jersey we will also set up a kitty for meals. In fact, there will actually be two: one for food (€100 contribution per person) and one for alcohol (depending on how much you consume, or your best guess at it). Nobody is obliged to pay into the kitty, nor to eat together with us. But cooking and eating together after a strenuous day's paddling is just good fun, and not only does it help to strengthen our tired muscles; it also helps us to create a sense of community. Find more on this topic here.

      Weather:
      As you might expect, we can't make any guarantees in terms of weather or sea state. In order to ensure everyone's safety, our guide will decide how to carry out the planned programme locally on a daily basis, and whether to do so. As experienced sea kayakers, we know that Neptune always has the last word.

      Accident insurance is the responsibility of the participants.
      We also strongly recommend that you obtain travel cancellation insurance. Please read our GTC on the topic of cancellation fees, cancellation deadlines etc.
    Stacks Image 424
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 432
    Stacks Image 434
    Stacks Image 499
    Stacks Image 501
    Stacks Image 503
    Special package Jersey Tides & Rocks Camp und Big Tide Week:
    You can also book a double dose of kayaking by booking the Tides & Rocks Camp together with Big Tide Week, which always takes place the week after.
    Unsure whether your experience and skills are good enough for you to join us for Big Tide Week? Then we'll make sure we bring you up to speed in the first week! When booking the special package, the participation requirements are the same as those for the Tides and Rocks Camp.

    PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS:

    ++ Must be able to swim ++
    ++ 5 days of sea kayaking experience on the sea (unless you are a whitewater kayaker who fancies trying something new) ++
    ++ You are confident sitting in a kayak and can do the basics ++
    ++ You are confident paddling at Beaufort force 3 and in waves of about 2 ft ++

    Stacks Image 3

    2021 FULLY BOOKED


    How to get to Jersey:

    • Rail

      ++ Take the train via Paris, Rennes and St-Malo ++
      ++ From there, catch the ferry to St Helier ++
      ++ From the port of St Helier, it's a short walk to Liberation Bus Station where you should then catch the
      1a bus, getting off at the St Clement Church stop. ++
      ++ Bakehouse Cottage, on St Clement Farm, is a minute's walk away ++

      If you wish, we can transport your kayak to Jersey on our trailer (additional charge: 150 CHF)

    • Road

      ++ Car: carshare from Switzerland via St-Malo ++ From there, get the Condor Ferries car ferry to St Helier ++
      ++ Drive eastward from St Helier (Gorey), and then drive along Green Road (A5) to St Clement ++
      ++ Turn right into St Clement Farm and park near our trailer ++

      If you wish, we can transport your kayak to Jersey on our trailer (additional charge: 150 CHF)

    • Aeroplane

      ++ Flights from London Gatwick (EasyJet, British Airways) ++
      ++ Direct flights from Zurich with Blue Island ++

      ++ At the airport, catch the bus to Liberation Bus Station, then catch the
      1a bus, getting off at the St Clement Church stop. ++
      ++ Bakehouse Cottage, on St Clement Farm, is a minute's walk away ++

      If you wish, we can transport your kayak to Jersey on our trailer (additional charge: 150 CHF)

    Hello!
    Please select your language

JERSEY: TIDES & ROCKS CAMP


FACTS

Stacks Image 511

++ Einer unserer beliebtesten Kurse in bester Ferienstimmung ++
++ Tagestrips mit viel Spielen ++
++ Gezeiten, Tideraces, Felsen, Surfen ++
++ Unterkunft in der legendären Bakehouse Cottage ++
++ Viel mehr Sonne als du denkst! ++
++ MUSS SEIN: Burger im "Hungry Man"! ++

PREIS: 1290 CHF
Exkl. An- und Abreise, Unterkunft und Verpflegung. Aufpreis bei weniger als 5 Personen: 100 CHF

SPEZIALPREIS KOMBIPAKET BEIDE JERSEY-WOCHEN: 2200 CHF

LEVEL: ROT
Was ist mein Level?

08.–15.05.2021

DETAILS

    • Tag 1
      Tag 1 (Anreise)
      Individuelle Anreise nach Jersey. Sobald du in unserer supergemütlichen Cottage in St. Clement eingetrudelt bist, kannst du es dir erstmal richtig gutgehen lassen und alles gemütlich angehen: Boote und Material richten, einkaufen, kochen, Ale trinken und uns kennenlernen… Und natürlich das super Flair unserer Cottage geniessen! Mehr braucht es heute nicht…
    • Tag 2–7
      Tag 2 bis 7
      Jersey, die grösste britische Kanalinsel vor der Küste Frankreichs, bietet alles, was das Seekajakerherz begehrt: Riesige Surfstrände mit Atlantikbrandung, schroffe Steilküsten und Felsen, türkisfarbenes, ganzjährig moderat temperiertes Wasser und, last but not least, riesige Tidenhübe mit fantastischen Tideraces, die für jede Menge Spass und Herausforderung sorgen. Kurzum: auf Jersey finden sich hervorragende Paddelbedingungen von einfach bis sehr anspruchsvoll, und es ist möglich, hier in kurzer Zeit enorm viel zu lernen und dabei grossen Spass zu haben. Für unsere Paddelwoche planen wir fünf Tagestouren, die jeweils vor Ort, an die aktuellen Bedingungen angepasst, geplant werden. Wenn Wetter und Gezeiten stimmen, können wir auch die knapp 10 km lange Überfahrt zu den einsamen Fischerinseln „Les Écréhous“ angehen. Dort ist die Chance besonders hoch, auf Robben und Delfine zu treffen.

      Selbstverständlich hat das grüne Inselparadies Jersey auch ausserhalb des Kajaks sehr viel zu bieten: Eine einzigartige Mischung aus englischem Flair und französischem Einfluss, Palmen vor fast jedem Haus, frisches Ale im Pub, grossartiges Seafood in Restaurants am Yachthafen oder saftige Burger beim Mittagshalt am «Hungry Man» Imbiss in der malerischen Bucht von Rozel… Ein weiteres Muss ist der «Seabed Walk»: An einem Tag der Woche werden wir nicht das Meer vom Boot aus, sondern den Boden des Meeres in Gummistiefeln erkunden. Geleitet von unserem professionellen Sea-bed guide Trudy machen wir eine unvergessliche Wanderung durch das bei Ebbe trocken fallende, riesige Gebiet um den Seymour Tower herum, vor der Südküste der Insel. Hier lernen wir nicht nur alles über Seegras, Austern und das erstaunliche Leben in diesem einzigartigen Ökosystem, sondern bestaunen auch all die Felsengärten, durch die wir zuvor gepaddelt sind – allerdings von einem mehrere Meter tiefer gelegenen Standpunkt aus!
    • Tag 8
      Tag 8 (Abreise)
      Rückreise für alle, die nach der Woche 1 nach Hause fahren. Für alle die, die „Big Tide Week“ (Woche 2) gebucht haben, steht heute ein gemütlicher Ausruhtag auf dem Programm… Den werden wir brauchen, denn die Big Tide Week wird spannend!
    • Specials
      Auf Jersey hast du die Möglichkeit, zusätzlich zu unserem "normalen" Programm folgende British Canoeing (ehemals "BCU") Kurse und Awards zu machen:

      Coastal Navigation and Tidal Planning
      Dieser eintägige Kurs ist DIE Grundlage für alle deine Seekajakabenteuer. Egal, ob du primär auf Mittelmeer und Ostsee oder in Tidengewässern unterwegs bist, hier lernst du alle theoretischen Basics, die es braucht, um auf eigene Faust sichere Touren planen und durchführen zu können. Dieser Kurs ist Pflicht für alle, die die Ausbildung zum BC Sea Kayak Leader (s.u.) machen wollen. Kosten: 119 GBP plus (optional) 20 GBP für das Teilnahmezeugnis (UK-Einwohner: 10 GBP).

      Sea Kayak Award (ehemals "BCU 3-Star")
      Den Sea Kayak Award kannst du, bei Interesse, im Rahmen unserer Paddelwoche machen. Du wirst, wenn du diese Option möchtest, während der Woche auf dem Wasser etwas genauer "beobachtet" und musst ggf. bestimmte Skills zeigen. Es entsteht am Ende nur eine geringe extra Gebühr für das Zertifikat, das du von BC zugeschickt bekommst.

      Sea Kayak Leader (ehemals "BCU 4-Star")
      Der BC Sea Kayak Leader ist die international am weitesten verbreitete und bekannteste Lizenz, um als Guide zu arbeiten, egal ob professionell oder im Verein. Wenn du interessiert an dieser Ausbildung bist, melde dich bitte und wir besprechen die Details gemeinsam.
    • Mehr Infos
      Gruppengrösse: Mindestens vier, maximal acht Teilnehmer

      Im Preis inbegriffen sind Boot, Paddel, Schwimmweste und Spritzdecke sowie, falls benötigt, Neopren-Long-John, Schuhe, Paddeljacke und Helm. Bitte bringe in jedem Fall eigene Funktionsunterwäsche (Wolle oder eng anliegendes Fleece, KEINE Baumwolle!) und Badebekleidung mit.

      Du kannst auf Wunsch auch einen Trockenanzug bei uns mieten. Kosten: 120 CHF


      Gruppenkasse:
      Wie immer führen wir auch auf Jersey eine gemeinschaftliche Gruppenkasse für die Verpflegung. Genauer gesagt sogar zwei: Eine für Essen (Einlage 100 GBP pro Person) und eine für Alkohol (je nach Konsum bzw. Selbsteinschätzung). Du bist weder verpflichtet, in die Gruppenkasse einzuzahlen, noch mit uns gemeinsam zu essen. Aber das gemeinsame Kochen und Essen nach einem anstrengenden Paddeltag macht einfach Spass und stärkt nicht nur unsere müden Muskeln, sondern auch das Gemeinschaftsgefühl. Mehr zu diesem Thema findest du hier.

      Wetter: Natürlich können wir dir keine Garantie für Wetter und Seegang geben. Um die Sicherheit zu gewährleisten, entscheidet unser Guide vor Ort anhand unserer Sicherheitsregelungen jeden Tag aufs Neue über die Durchführbarkeit des Programms. Als erfahrene Seekajaker wissen wir: Neptun hat stets das letzte Wort.

      Unfallversicherung ist Sache der Teilnehmer. Wir empfehlen dir ausserdem dringend, eine Reiserücktrittsversicherung abzuschliessen. Bitte lese auch unsere AGB zu Stornogebühren, Fristen etc.
    Stacks Image 424
    Stacks Image 426
    Stacks Image 428
    Stacks Image 430
    Stacks Image 432
    Stacks Image 434
    Stacks Image 499
    Stacks Image 501
    Stacks Image 503
    Spezialpaket Jersey Tides & Rocks Camp und Big Tide Week:
    Du kannst das Tides & Rocks Camp auch im Doppelpack mit der Big Tide Week, die immer direkt in der Woche drauf stattfindet, buchen.
    Du bist nicht sicher, ob deine Erfahrung und Skills den Teilnahmevoraussetzungen für die Big Tide Week entsprechen? Dann bringen wir dich in der ersten Woche auf Kurs! Es gelten bei der Buchung des Spezialpakets lediglich die Teilnahmevoraussetzungen des Tides & Rocks Camps.

    VORAUSSETZUNGEN FÜR DIE TEILNAHME:

    ++ Schwimmkenntnisse ++
    ++ 5 Tage Seekajakerfahrung auf dem Meer (Ausnahme: Wildwasserkajaker mit Lust auf Neues) ++
    ++ Du sitzt sicher im Boot und die Basics funktionieren ++
    ++ Du paddelst bereits sicher in 3 Bft und Wellen bis ca. 50 cm ++

    Stacks Image 3

    2021 AUSGEBUCHT


    So kommst du nach Jersey:

    • Zug

      ++ Mit dem Zug über Paris, Rennes und St. Malo ++
      ++ Ab dort mit der Fähre nach St. Helier ++
      ++ Vom Hafen St. Helier ein kurzer Fussweg zur Liberation Bus Station; ab dort mit dem
      Bus 1a zur Haltestelle St. Clement Church. ++
      ++ Eine Minute Fussweg bis zur Bakehouse Cottage auf dem Gelände der St. Clement Farm ++

      Auf Wunsch bringen wir dir dein Boot mit dem Anhänger nach Jersey (Aufpreis: 150 CHF)

    • Auto

      ++ Auto: Fahrgemeinschaften ab Schweiz über St. Malo ++ Von dort mit der Autofähre Condor Ferries nach St. Helier ++
      ++ Ab St. Helier Richtung Osten (Gorey) und dann auf die Green Road (A5) bis nach St. Clement ++
      ++ Rechts einbiegen in die St. Clement Farm und parken, wo unser Anhänger steht ++

      Auf Wunsch bringen wir dir dein Boot mit dem Anhänger nach Jersey (Aufpreis: 150 CHF)

    • Flugzeug

      ++ Mit dem Flugzeug via London Gatwick (EasyJet, British Airways) ++
      ++ Direktflug ab Zürich mit Blue Island ++

      ++ Vom Flughafen mit dem Bus zur Liberation Bus Station, dort umsteigen in den
      Bus 1a bis zur Haltestelle St. Clement Church. ++
      ++ Eine Minute Fussweg bis zur Bakehouse Cottage auf dem Gelände der St. Clement Farm ++

      Auf Wunsch bringen wir dir dein Boot mit dem Anhänger nach Jersey (Aufpreis: 150 CHF)

    Hello!
    Please select your language